Responding to challenges with clarity, consistency and transparency
Governance admin_apaari August 3, 2022

Our Constitution

The ninth edition of the APAARI Constitution was approved in December 2022 by the APAARI Executive Committee as per the directive and guidance of the Sixteenth General Assembly Meeting. Developed on the basis of a comprehensive review, this draft includes necessary provisions to help enhance APAARI’s management and governance to better address agricultural research and innovation, thereby contributing to the realization of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in the region.

Each section of the Constitution can be accessed here.

Pages from APAARI Constitution 2022

General Assembly

The General Assembly is the apex body of APAARI that meets once every two years. Each core and associate member organization of APAARI is represented with one vote in the General Assembly meetings. It determines the policy of the Association, approves its programme of work and budget, reviews progress, and exercises other powers conferred upon it under the Constitution. Specifically, the duties of the General Assembly are to:

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee meets at least twice a year and is convened by the Executive Secretary of APAARI. It manages the affairs of the Association in accordance with its Constitution and the policies and directives adopted by the General Assembly. The Executive Committee reports to the General Assembly on the implementation of approved programmes of work and the progress made in fulfilling the objectives of the Association. It is composed of 14 members, namely, Chair, Vice-Chair, Executive Secretary of APAARI, and eleven other members representing different stakeholder constituencies.

Members of the Executive Committee (2023-2024)
Prof. Lindsay Falvey

Commissioner for International Agricultural Research, Representing the Australian Centre for International Agriucltural Research (ACIAR), Australia

Prof. Mohammad Ali Ebrahimi

Agricultural Research, Education and Extension Organization (AREEO), Iran

Mr. Rapibhat Chandarasrivongs
Mr. Rapibhat Chandarasrivongs

Department of Agriculture (DOA), Thailand

Dr. Himanshu Pathak
Dr. Himanshu Pathak

Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), India

Dr. Andew Tukana

Ministry of Agriculture (MOA), Fiji

Dato’ Dr. Mohamad Zabawi Abdul Ghani
Dato’ Dr. Mohamad Zabawi Abdul Ghani

Malaysian Agricultural Research and Development Institute (MARDI), Malaysia

KyungTai Lee-RDA
Dr. Kyung-Tai Lee

Rural Development Administration (RDA), Republic of Korea


The Consortium of International Agricultural Research Centers (CGIAR)

Prof. Dr. Hildegard Lingnau

Global Forum on Agricultural Research and Innovation (GFAR)

Dr Babar E Bajwa
Dr. Babar E Bajwa

Centre for Agriculture and Bioscience International (CABI)
(Representing AIRCA Members)

Dr. Geethalakshmi Vellingiri

Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, India
(Representing Higher Education Sector)

Hsiao chun HUNG
Ms. Sophie, Hsiao-Chun Hung

Council of Agriculture (COA), Taiwan
(Representing Donor Agencies)

Private Sector Organizations
Dr. Ravi Khetarpal-min
Dr. Ravi Khetarpal

EC Member Secretary & Executive Director